top of page

Pressure Cooker Red Beans and Rice

I used to love the red beans and rice that came in the box! You know the one with the red and white package and the silhouette of the trumpet player. I stopped buying it because my family can't handle the heat (so this recipe is mild), and because I didn't like all the added stuff that comes with buying your food in a box!

Red Beans and Rice

The grocery stores near me were WIPED OUT of many types of beans and rice and pastas at the beginning stages of the virus pandemic. So I was forced to take another look at red beans because that was all that was left on the shelf! I had forgotten how yummy and easy red beans could be!

This is an easy "set-it-and-forget-it" pressure cooker recipe. I dump everything in

the pot, give it a stir, and set the timer. I did find that I wanted to tweak the amount of salt and heat that I got after cooking. When you are cooking for spice wimps, there is a fine line between mild and flavorless! So feel free to play with the seasoning after you open your pot. If you find that your mixture is too thick, just add a little water when you add your additional seasoning to ensure that it mixes well.

Give your red beans and rice a little jambalaya-style twist by adding your favorite vegan sausage to the pot! It can go right into the pressure cooker if you like, and adds a bit of tasty oils.

I like to serve my red beans and rice with a salad or green vegetable, and a side of cornbread. A little avocado can help cut the heat if it is not mild enough. Dinner plans can't get any easier! Enjoy.

Red Beans and Rice

 

PREP TIME 15 | COOK TIME 50 | TOTAL TIME 65

 

Servings: 6-8

Category: Entree

Cuisine: Cajun

Ingredients

1 1lb bag of red beans

2 cups rice (I used brown)

7 cups broth

1-2 ea Bay leaf

1 Tbl tomato paste

1/2 cup each onion, bell pepper, celery (diced)

2 tsp minced garlic

1 tsp cumin

1/2 tsp paprika

2 tsp chili powder

1 tsp oregano

1 tsp thyme

1 Tbl salt (or to taste)

2 tsp Worchestershire Sauce (vegan--optional)

1/2 tsp cayenne pepper (optional--if you don't want mild)

Vegan sausage, sliced (I like Beyond Meat.)

Instructions

Place all ingredients into a pressure cooker. Set pressure cooker on 50 minutes.

Alternatively, cook beans according to package instructions until soft. Simmer in the the seasoning above for about 30 minutes. Cook rice according to package instructions using broth.

Notes

For additional heat add an additional teaspoon of chili powder, and/or the optional cayenne powder.

I found that that this recipe requires a lot of salt. You may be surprised to find that additional salt may be desired after cooking.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page