top of page

Chickpea Coconut Curry


This is my super easy, totally Americanized version of curry. There are some traditionally used ingredients, but sometimes I don't have those available and I will substitute them and still get a yummy result, in my opinion. The picture shows sweet potatoes instead of white potatoes, for example. I happened to have some oven roasted sweet potatoes leftover from another meal, so I tossed them in! I usually include potatoes, peas, carrots, and cauliflower in addition to onions and garlic. I also will often use lemon juice instead of lime since I have it on hand.

I have been known to serve my curry over rice (of course), quinoa, and baked potato! If you use canned chickpeas and frozen veggies this recipe is so quick and easy! But since just about everyone owns a pressure cooker these days, it doesn't take much to get your chickpeas ready from dry either. If I am using fresh veggies I prefer to steam them before adding them to the pan--it just cuts down on having to babysit the sauce so that it doesn't burn while waiting for the vegetables to get soft.

My family likes their food pretty mild, so I scale back the heat in this recipe. If you like it hot, feel free to add a little chili paste or substitute curry powder for garam masala seasoning.

Chickpea Coconut Curry

 

PREP TIME 10 | COOK TIME 20 | TOTAL TIME 30

 

Servings: 6

Category: Entree

Cuisine: Indian-Style

Ingredients

1 14 oz can of coconut cream or full fat milk

1 15 oz can chickpeas, drained

2 medium potatoes, diced and steamed

1/2 cup peas and carrots

1 12 oz bag of frozen cauliflower (or small head steamed)

1 small onion diced

1 tsp garlic, minced

1 Tbl lime juice (lemon can be used)

2 tsp bullion powder or paste

1 Tbl curry powder

1 Tbl butter (optional for sauteing)

chopped coriander (cilantro) leaves for serving (optional)

salt to taste

Instructions

Heat butter in a large pan over medium heat. Add onions and a pinch of salt and saute until soft. Add minced garlic and toss for another minute.

Add the can of coconut cream and stir until smooth. Add curry powder, lime juice and bullion and stir to incorporate evenly into the cream.

Add the remaining vegetables and chickpeas and simmer, stirring occasionally, until vegetables are tender.

Serve over rice and top with coriander leaves.

Notes

*Tips for adding more heat and how to prepare the vegetables for an easy meal prep are in the blog above! Enjoy!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page