top of page

Easy Baked Tofu

So, we are all supposed to be home social-distancing ourselves. What a great time to catch up on your blog...or try a new recipe! (Prayers that all is well and stays well with you and yours.)

Baked Tofu

I had started back to work a few weeks before the world started shutting down. It has been just over a year since we closed our restaurant and our truck business, and I had been unemployed during that time (by choice, I needed to recover). So when I started back to work full-time again I was SO out of practice maintaining our household and keeping the kids schedules while being out of the house for 9+ hours a day! I knew I needed to start thinking about meal prep.

Tofu sprinkled with Bragg's

One of the things that my family has come to love is tofu. My kids, and especially my husband, can put away some tofu! I usually have to make two 15 oz blocks to ensure that we all get our fill--plus it is nice to put away leftovers for lunch at the office the next day; that is, if I can keep the family from devouring it all.

As a busy, working mom I needed a quick way to make tofu tasty without spending a lot of time in the kitchen or having to plan ahead with marinades. You will still need to press the tofu, so that accounts for 10 of the 20 prep time minutes. If you get the super-firm tofu, you can get away with less pressing since it is so dense. Plus the tofu doesn't have to be perfectly pressed because baking will take some of the moisture out and you don't want it too dry. Seasoning the tofu is super quick, and then it goes in the oven. I would often use the bake time to prepare other recipes, or just pre-cut items that I planned to use during the week.

This recipe has a mild, yet tasty flavor that makes it easy to pair with any recipe that you feel could use a protein boost. Or just toss them on a salad for an easy lunch.

Easy Baked Tofu

 

PREP TIME 20 | COOK TIME 30 | TOTAL TIME 50

 

Servings: 4 per block

Category: Protein

Cuisine:

Ingredients

15 oz block Extra-Firm or Super-Firm Tofu

Bragg's Liquid Aminos or Soy Sauce of choice

1 Tbl per block Dry vegetable broth powder like Seitenbacher Vegetarian Vegetable Broth

Cooking spray

Instructions

Preheat oven to 425 degrees.

Press tofu for 10 minutes and cut into desired shape (The larger, or thicker you make your pieces the softer your tofu will be in the middle.)*

Line a baking sheet with a mat and lightly spray with cooking spray. Arrange the tofu on the mat and sprinkle with the Bragg's.* No need to flip the tofu.

Next, lightly sprinkle the tofu with the broth powder. (I have found that a small sifter, like the one shown, makes this easier.) Again, no need to flip the tofu.

Lightly spray the top of the seasoned tofu with cooking spray once more.

Bake for 15 minutes, flip the tofu and bake for 15 more minutes.

Serve immediately or allow to cool and store in an air-tight container in the fridge for 5-7 days.

Notes

*I like to cut my tofu into square shapes by cutting the block in half to make 2 long blocks and then slicing it into 1/4 inch thick slabs.

*If you are using soy sauce, be sure it is low sodium or you will need to water it down 1:1 (maybe). Otherwise your tofu may come out too salty.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page