top of page

Potato Soup

My dog's breath is fogging up the glass on my front window, so it is still soup weather and potato soup is one of the easiest to make!

Potato Soup with mushrooms added

I had bought one of those giant 10 pound bags of potatoes when everyone was going COVID-crazy at the grocery store. (I wasn't going nuts, it was one of the few bags left.) My family of four had baked potatoes, roasted potatoes, and mashed potatoes...we needed to eat these potatoes before they would go to waste! One of my kids wanted cornbread for dinner and that is when I remembered Potato Soup!

Traditionally, vegetables like carrots, onions, and celery are all you need for this soup. But, adding other veggies can give this old favorite a fresh take--I like to add corn or mushrooms (though the mushrooms will change the color of your soup from a golden hue to more brown--see picture above).

If you have tried any of my other soup or bean recipes then you know how much I love my pressure cooker! But if you don't have one yet (you should get one!), I have included the super easy stove-top directions below. If you can find a frozen soup mix in the veggie section of your grocery store, then you can cut your prep time in half! I always keep the mirepoix (carrot, celery, onion) mix in my freezer for when I need to cut time off of my meal prep or when I don't have the fresh ingredients handy.

This soup is so easy to make that there isn't much more to say...so without further ado! Enjoy.

Potato Soup

 

PREP TIME 15 | COOK TIME 10 | TOTAL TIME 25

 

Servings: 6-8

Category: Entree

Cuisine: Soups/Stews

Ingredients

2 cups Potatoes diced 1/2 cup Onion diced 3/4 cup Celery diced

1 cup Carrots diced 2 cups Unsweetened milk 2 Tbsp Broth powder or concentrate (or sub water with liquid broth) 1 tsp Parsley, dried 2 tsp Salt (to taste) 1 tsp Garlic Powder 2 Tbsp Onion powder 1 tsp Garlic mince 1 tsp Cumin 1/4 cups Nutritional yeast

4 cups Water

Instructions

Place all ingredients except for the milk into a pressure cooker. Set pressure cooker on 10 minute soup setting. Stir in milk.

Alternatively, place all ingredients in a large pot over medium heat. Simmer, stirring occasionally, until the vegetables are tender (about 20 minutes).

For a creamier soup, blend a cup or two of the soup and add it back to the pot.

Notes

When I added my soy milk before cooking in the pressure cooker, it seemed to curdle a little. That is why I would add it after cooking.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page