top of page

Green Bean Casserole

When I said that I wanted to cut back on our holiday feast this year I asked my husband what he wanted me to be sure to make and he included green bean casserole on his list! I have to agree that it isn't Thanksgiving without it.

There it is! Right in the middle!

If you are not into buying expensive vegan dairy subs, like cream soups, then make up a recipe of my mushroom-celery cream soup and meet me back here. I also usually find GF french fried onions around the holidays at Aldi, but had no luck this year. They are a bit pricey when you consider how much an onion and a little flour really costs, but it is nice to skip at least one step when you have so many when preparing a feast! Below is my quick fried onion recipe in case you need it:

Fried Onions:

1 large Onion sliced into thin strips

1 cup of milk, unsweetened

2-3 T corn starch

1 cup of GF flour

1/2 T Seasoned Salt

Heat 4-5 inches of oil in a large pot to 350 degrees. (I used a candy thermometer since my electric one died!)

Mix the milk with the corn starch in one bowl and the flour and season salt in another bowl.

Coat the onion strips in the milk mixture and then drop them into the flour mixture and toss until evenly coated with flour. Then, using tongs, place the coated onions in the hot oil and fry for about 4 minutes or until lightly browned. Place on a napkin lined plate to drain excess oil. Allow to cool completely before storing.

-----------

I like using fresh green beans in my casserole, but again that can be another step you may want to eliminate. So an alternative to cleaning and steaming fresh beans, you could heat and drain frozen beans. I do like using the whole beans vs the french cut, but that is all up to you! The basics of green bean casserole are green beans, cream sauce, and french fried onions...you can do this!

Green Bean Casserole

 

PREP TIME 20 | COOK TIME 40 | TOTAL TIME 60

 

Servings: 6-8

Category: Side

Cuisine: Casserole

Ingredients

Cream Soup 2 cups (or 1 11oz can and 1/2 cup of milk)

Worcestershire sauce* 1-2 Tbl

Green beans 2 lbs

French-fried onions 1 recipe (above)

Instructions

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees.

Spray a 2-quart casserole dish with cooking spray. Add the cooked and drained green beans.

Mix the cream soup with the desired amount of Worcestershire sauce (start by adding a little at a time). If you find that your cream soup is too thick, just add a little unsweetened milk until it reaches your desired consistency. Pour mixture over the green beans. Add a dash or two of pepper if you like.

Mix in about half of the French onions.

Bake uncovered for about 30 minutes. Top with the remaining French onions and bake for 10 more minutes. Serve hot.

Notes

I like to make my cream soup and fried onions the day before the big meal so that all I have to do is toss everything together and pop in the oven the day of!

*I ordered my vegan Worcestershire on Amazon, but you can check labels at the grocery store. Not all of them will have anchovies.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page